General Convention

General Convention 2024 logo


The General Convention is the governing body of The Episcopal Church. Every three years it meets as a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops, comprising deputies and bishops from each diocese.

The 81st General Convention takes place June 23-28, 2024, in Louisville, Ky.



Diocese of Massachusetts Deputation

Lay deputies (in order of election):

  • William C. Boyce, Grace Church, New Bedford
  • Betsy Ridge, Church of the Advent, Boston
  • Brian Litzenberger, Trinity Church, Concord
  • Kevin Miller, Epiphany Parish, Walpole

Clerical deputies (in order of election):

  • The Rev. Edwin Johnson
  • The Rev. Dr. Karen Coleman, Boston University Chaplaincy and Trinity Church, Boston
  • The Rev. Isaac Martinez, Trinity Church, Melrose and Allston Abbey, Allston
  • The Rev. Chris Wendell, St. Paul's Church, Bedford

Alternate deputies:  There were no alternate deputy nominees for election at the 2023 Diocesan Convention, so alternate deputies will be appointed in 2024.

General Convention 2022 (delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic)
General Convention 2018
General Convention 2015
General Convention 2012