Transition Committee

Transition Committee group photo Courtesy photo The Transition Committee was given its charge from the Standing Committee on Jan. 5, at the Church of the Redeemer in Chestnut Hill. Members are (pictured from left): Beth Grundy, James Dilday (Standing Committee), James Hairston, Walter Connelly (Standing Committee), Natasha Stewart, Kate Paradise, Brett Johnson, Kourtni Patten, Cynthia Pape, Clifford Brown, Leon Brathwaite, Marya DeCarlen, Betsy Ridge and Michael Thompson, with the Standing Committee's president, Karen Coleman, and vice president, Grace Knowles.

The Transition Committee is responsible for a week of “meet and greets” in early May with the final nominees for election as bishop; coordinating with diocesan staff and others to implement the special electing convention on May 18, 2024; providing transition support and logistics for the bishop-elect and their family; arranging a thanksgiving celebration for the ministry of Bishop Alan Gates; and working collaboratively with the Consecration Committee, as well as churchwide and diocesan staff, in the planning and implementation of the Oct. 19, 2024, consecration of the new bishop. 

Members of the Bishop Transition Committee

The Rev. Elizabeth Grundy, St. Peter's Church, Osterville
The Rev. Brett Johnson, Emmanuel Church, Wakefield
Betsy Ridge, Church of the Advent, Boston

Leon Brathwaite, Grace Church, Vineyard Haven
The Rev. Clifford Brown, Christ Church, Quincy
The Rev. Marya DeCarlen, St. John’s Church, Gloucester
The Rev. James Hairston, Church of St. Augustine and St. Martin. Boston
The Rev. Cynthia Pape, St. John’s Church, Jamacia Plain
Kate Paradise, Church of the Holy Spirit, Orleans
Kourtni Patten, Grace Church, Salem
The Rev. Natasha Stewart, St. Luke’s Church, Scituate
The Rev. Michael Thompson, St. John’s Church, Newtonville

The Rev. Ginger Solaqua