Bishop Nominees

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Massachusetts is pleased to announce that, after receiving the recommendations of the Bishop Nominating Committee, it has approved a preliminary slate of four nominees for election as the 17th bishop diocesan of the Diocese of Massachusetts.

Use the links below to learn more about each nominee on the preliminary slate.

The Rev. Canon Jean Baptiste Ntagengwa

The Rev. Canon Jean Baptiste Ntagengwa, Th.D.

Petition period March 15-22, 2024

Anyone meeting the canonical requirements could petition to be added to the slate of nominees during the seven-day petition period that closed on March 22, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern. The petition process requirements and procedure are available here. Once the petition process has been completed, the Standing Committee will announce the final slate of nominees.

Visit for information and updates on our bishop search process.